I get a lot of spam, but this one is new to me:
From: Tech Support [mailto:Admin4@mllka.com]
Sent: June 8, 2007 8:34 PM
Subject: Here is the information you were asking for.Recipe for great BBQ Sauce:
INGREDIENTS
1 quart apple cider vinegar
1 (20 ounce) bottle ketchup
1/4 cup paprika
1 pound dark brown sugar
1/4 cup salt
1 tablespoon black pepper
2 tablespoons red pepper flakes
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
1/2 cup lemon juiceDIRECTIONS
In a large container, mix together the apple cider vinegar, ketchup, paprika, brown sugar, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, garlic powder, Worcestershire sauce and lemon juice. Pour into an empty vinegar bottle, ketchup bottle or other container and store in the refrigerator for up to
1 month.
The email was plain text so no virus or tracking payload that I could find. Not sure what possible benefit that sending this spam message could have to anyone, unless this is the BBQ sauce that you’re supposed to serve on your Spam.
{ 10 } Comments
I get tons of these messages too, and like you can’t see what the purpose is, other than that they are annoying.
They are always from “AdminX@mllka.com”, where X can be any single digit number.
Very wierd and pointless.
I seem to recall a round of comment spam about a year ago that was seemingly innocuous but nonsensical; I think that it might have been testing the spam filters, because a deluge of comment spam followed shortly thereafter.
Just searched for Admin4 @ mllka.com, as I received a salad recipe on my company email account from that source. Instead I found your blog! Wasn’t sure what to make of it, but now I am happy to see that I won’t be infecting the company server with a nice virus!
Just got a copy of an e-mail from the same source: that said
Quote:
Our greatest glory consists not in never falling, but in rising every
time we fall.
Confucius
I just got this same bbq sauce email, but it was from “service@hvr3s.com”
The other weird thing was that it went to an email address that doesn’t exist. I have a website with two email accounts set up to go with the website. Both of those accounts are set to forward to my hotmail. This email was sent to neither of those two accounts, but the @domain.net part was correct…somehow it still ended up in my hotmail account. Very creepy…
Just started to get these; one yesterday and one today. Mine are also from “service@hvr3s.com” and are of the famous quotations type. I purged yesterday’s but today’s said:
Quote:
Persistent people begin their success where others end in failure.
Edward Eggleston
Yesterday’s was equally motivational. They did not have the correct email address, but since I am the web admin I have a catch-all account that snags anything with @ our domain name.
Nice to know that they are still playing with this over a year after your original post.
I received two emails today addressed to different recipients at our domain name, but both were from “service@hvr4s.com” and contained a recipe for overnight fruit salad. The mystery continues.
I suspect they may be testing email addresses. If some bounce back and others don’t, then they know which ones are live addresses. Will probably be followed soon with a massive spam assault.
My boss just received an email today from “service@hvr3s.com” with a contemplative quote. I was just looking into it to see if the .com was legitimate or business related and found this site. So I guess it is spam then, oh well, just thought I’d share.
I got the same email–very strange.
Post a Comment